Celebrating Undergraduate Research in COS

Balcony view COS URC 2016

The College of Science Undergraduate Research Colloquium was held on April 22, 2016 in the Center for the Arts Lobby.  This year, the event featured 53 poster presentations

Sarah Farinelli Keynote COS URC 2016

Sarah Farinelli gives the keynote presentation at COS URC 2016


The colloquium also featured a keynote address by Sarah Farinelli (mentor David Luther).  Ms. Farinelli spoke on her work “Evaluating Conservation Actions for the Florida Manatee”.

Awards were given to the top three overall posters and the top three posters per category.  Congratulations to the winners!



Overall Awards – Dean’s Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research

1st Overall         Nicole Doriguzzi
2nd Overall        Sammie Alexander
3rd Overall         Mahmoud Namazi

Keynote Speaker   Sarah Farinelli

Category Awards

Earth Sciences   

1st Place             Lori Patterson
2nd Place           Ernestina Opoku
3rd Place            Brenlee Shipps

Physical Science and Mathematics   

1st Place             Austin Bradley
2nd Place           Saman Shahid
3rd Place            Claire Johnson

Life Sciences

1st Place             Andrea Broad
2nd Place           Leon Cho
3rd Place            Raeshun Glover

STEM Education   

1st Place             Sydne Smith
2nd Place           Margaret Araneo
3rd Place            Kathleen Pena

Award winners COS URC 2016

Award winners COS URC 2016