Faculty and Administration

Email addresses are indicated by an envelope icon () and should be followed by “@gmu.edu”.

Administration

Acting Chair
Jason Kinser
703-993-3785
 jkinser@gmu.edu

CSI / CDS Graduate Coordinator
Estela Blaisten-Barojas
703-993-1988
 blaisten@gmu.edu

CSS Graduate Coordinator
Eduardo Lopez
703-993-5916
elopez22@gmu.edu

CDS Undergraduate Coordinator
Joseph Marr

703-993-5017
 jmarr2@gmu.edu

Academic Programs Administrator
Karen Underwood
703-993-9298
kunderwo@gmu.edu
 cds@gmu.edu

HR & Fiscal Specialist
Natalie Lapidot-Croitoru
703-993-5836
nlapidot@gmu.edu

Instructional Faculty

profile-axtellRobert Axtell
Professor
Co-director, Computational Public Policy Lab
Computational social science and public policy
rax222@gmu.edu

profile-blaistenEstela Blaisten-Barojas
Professor
Director, Computational Materials Science Center
Graduate Coordinator, CSI, COMP, CTA Programs
Computational Physics, Modeling and Simulation of Soft Materials and Nanostructures
blaisten@gmu.edu

profile-cioffiClaudio Cioffi-Revilla
Professor
Director, Center for Social Complexity
Quantitative, mathematical, and simulation models applied to complex human and social systems
ccioffi@gmu.edu

profile-crooksAndrew Crooks
Associate Professor
Agent-based modeling, GIscience, Urban Geography, Computational Social Science
acrooks2@gmu.edu

glasbrennerJames Glasbrenner
Assistant Professor
Modeling and Simulation of Materials Properties
jglasbr2@gmu.edu

profile-kinserJason Kinser
Computational and Data Sciences Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Image processing, multi-domain data, pulse images
jkinser@gmu.edu

lopezEduardo Lopez
Assistant Professor
Network Science, Stochastic Processes, and Big Data
elopez22@gmu.edu

profile-marrJoseph Marr
Term Associate Professor
CDS Undergraduate Coordinator
Data Science
jmarr2@gmu.edu

renz Matthias Renz
Associate Professor
Databases, Search Algorithms, Big Data Management.
mrenz@gmu.edu
profile-tianQing Tian
Assistant Professor
Land use, development, human-environment systems, and complex adaptive systems
qtian2@gmu.edu
profile-wegmanEdward Wegman
Bernard J. Dunn Professor
Computational Statistics
ewegman@gmu.edu
profile-zoltekStanley Zoltek
Associate Professor
Differential Geometry
szoltek@gmu.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Igor_Griva.pngIgor Griva
Associate Professor
Nonlinear Optimization and Applications
igriva@gmu.edu
BillKennedyPhotoBill Kennedy
Research Assistant Professor
Cognitive science, behavioral modeling
wkennedy@gmu.edu
Mitka_web_imgDmitri Klimov
Associate Professor
Simulations of protein aggregation and membrane-protein interactions
dklimov@gmu.edu
2012-08-23-05.58.41-pmHoward Sheng
Associate Professor
Structural ordering and polyamorphism in liquids and glasses
hsheng@gmu.edu
tryfonaNektaria Tryfona
Director, Educational Initiatives
College of Science
Databases, STEM Education, Computing Education
 ntryfona@gmu.edu

Research Faculty & Fellows


Image result for blank headshotFoteini (Claire) Komninelli

Research Associate, Computational Materials Science Center (CMaSC)
Algorithms for robotics
 fkomnine@gmu.edu

profile-shabaevAndrew Shabaev
Research Associate Professor, Computational Materials Science Center (CMaSC)
Computational Materials Science
 ashabaev@gmu.edu
profile-vaxenburgRoman Vaxenburg
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Computational Materials Science Center (CMaSC)
Semiconductor Nanomaterials
 rvaxenbu@gmu.edu

Retired Faculty

profile-blackMurray Black
Professor Emeritus
Founding Dean of the School of Computational Sciences
mblack@gmu.edu

profile-gentleJames Gentle
University Professor
Computational Statistics and Computational Finance
jgentle@gmu.edu

 

profile-papaconstantopoulosDimitrios Papaconstantopoulos
Professor Emeritus
Computational Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science
dpapacon@gmu.edu

 

Back to Top